Welcome to Bourton Roadrunners Website

Bourton-on-the-Water, Gloucestershire -

Gloucestershire XC Championship - 8th January 2022

This year’s Gloucestershire AAA County Cross Country Championships were held at the Cotswold Farm Park, near Guiting Power, jointly hosted by Bourton Roadrunners and North Cotswold Tri clubs.

Despite the inclement weather – torrential rain, sleet and bitterly cold winds – this event provided a good reminder of how many strong-willed and talented individuals our county is blessed with, covering the full age and ability range. Whilst it was muddy and slippery at certain points around the course, this didn’t appear to reduce the determination of the 300+ athletes taking part, including the many talented juniors from all of the county’s clubs.

Representing Bourton Roadrunners in the senior ladies’ event over a 6.3k course was Jenni Glass, who was first in the LV50 age category, in a time of 37:34. Gill Carrick (LV60) had a strong performance and finished in 44:44.

In the men’s race, which was just under 10k, first to finish for Bourton was Derek Darby in a very respectable 50:29. He was followed by ultra-distance runner Neil Russell in his first cross-country race since leaving school! Neil finished strongly in 54:36, with Rob Williams working hard throughout in 66:37.

Fladbury Festive Five - 9th January 2022

This multi-terrain course, mainly off-road, followed the banks of the River Avon, through the villages of Fladbury and Lower Moor, Worcestershire. Susan Hunt (2nd claim) completed the race in 49:46. She said ‘It was neither festive nor 5, but a stunning day’.

South West Inter-Counties Cross Country U13 Championships – 2nd January 2022

Bourton Roadrunners’ Lucy Hillary, competing in her first race since her recovery from Covid, took part in the South West Inter-Counties Cross Country U13 Championships, at RNAS Merryfield, Taunton. Lucy was in fine-form, finishing well up the field in a time of 11:32, despite the muddy conditions and sharp turns.

Parkruns - 1st & 8th January 2022

Chipping Norton (1st): Ian Shoemark – 21:33, Lorna Shawcross – 27:49 (course PB), Claire Carroll – 28:18 (course PB), Rob Williams – 29:18, Ali Tighe – 34:44, Giles Canning – 34:45.
Stratford-upon-Avon (1st): Susan Hunt (2nd -claim) – 24:52.
Chipping Norton (8th): Barry O’Leary – 28:37, Jenny Everson – 39:09, Louise Hamilton-Smith – 43:34.
Stratford-upon-Avon (8th): Susan Hunt (2nd claim) – 25:10.



Visit the Members’ Area page


Congratulations to Bourton’s hardy-5, who flew the club colours at the County cross-country Champs - Jenni Glass, Gill Carrick, Derek Darby, Neil Russell and Rob Williams.

Thanks also to everyone who supported us in making the event not only possible but a success.



Other reports may be found on our recent race reports page.